Will Maruti/Suzuki cars score higher Bharat NCAP safety rating ?

What is Bharat NCAP ?

 Bharat New Car Assessment Program or Bharat NCAP is an automobile safety assessment program in India, operational from October 1st 2023. Similar to  the New Car Assessment Program (NCAP) programs found in several countries worldwide the primary objective of Bharat NCAP is to evaluate the safety of vehicles sold in the Indian market and provide consumers with information about the safety performance of these vehicles.

Bharat NCAP

Why Bharat NCAP ?

Moreover, Bharat NCAP assesses vehicles on various safety parameters, including crash tests, child safety, pedestrian safety, and adult occupant protection. Finally, it assigns safety ratings to vehicles based on their performance in these tests. In the end, these ratings are intended to help consumers make informed decisions when purchasing vehicles, encouraging the adoption of safer cars.

How will Bharat NCAP help ?

Additionally, the safety ratings provided by Bharat NCAP can be useful for consumers and can also incentivize automakers to improve the safety features of their vehicles. Although the specific ratings and criteria may evolve over time, so it’s important to refer to the latest information and ratings from Bharat NCAP for up-to-date evaluations of vehicle safety.

Bharat NCAP vs Global NCAP

Bharat NCAP

Global NCAP

Bharat NCAP is a public company, an Indian government run organization.

An apex amongst all NCAPs is a private company funded by various charities and car companies.

Under Bharat NCAP, Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) is 32 points. To clarify 16 points are awarded each for front and side impact test.


Under GNCAP, the maximum a vehicle can score in Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) is 34 points. GNCAP also awards 16 points for front and side impact test and two additional points for seat belt reminder. Which includes half for each front seats and 1 point for second row.

Bharat NCAP does not rate cars for seat belt reminders. However, to earn a 3 star rating or above seat belt reminder is mandatory

Two additional points for seat belt reminder. Which includes half for each front seats and 1 point for second row.

Child occupant protection

Both Bharat NCAP and Global NCAP award 16 points for the frontal impact test, 8 points for the side impact test, 12 points for CRS installation and 13 points for vehicle-based assessments such as ISOFIX usability, integrated CRS, provision of three-point seatbelts and more.

Electronic Stability Control (ESC) requirement 

As of 2023 both Bharat NCAP and Global NCAP has made ESC optional. But in 2024 this has to be a standalone fitment in all the variants of the cars in order to score a 3-star rating or higher. 

Side pole impact test

Both GNCAP and BNCAP state that for a vehicle will be tested for pole impact only if it has been fitted with some kind of head protection system, such as side and curtain airbags. Otherwise pole tests will not be allowed. In order to obtain a 5-star rating, both NCAPs require at least 50 percent of the vehicle’s variants to be fitted with head protection systems by the end of 2023, 70 percent by the end of 2024, 90 percent by the end of 2025 and 100 percent by 2026. Although, in 2023 a vehicle can receive a 3- star rating or above even if the car is not equipped with head protection system.

Pedestrian Protection 

Finally, Bharat NCAP requires all vehicles to comply with AIS100 norms which is similar to the UN127 norms that’s required by Global NCAP.


In the end, both testing bodies are setup for the safety of the people. Evidently, both are almost same they ensure the safety of people by enforcing the car companies to provide safety features in all the cars. 

The new Vande Bharat sleeper train is coming soon. Click here to read all about it.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top