First ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy – How much they have changed

ICC Cricket World Cup is no less than a festive season for cricket lovers all around the world. It is held every four years and the World Cup trophy that the winning team takes home is precious.

As it has been 44 years and 11 tournaments, the trophy has since seen several changes. Below you will find the whole history of the World Cup Trophy.

The Prudential Trophy – ICC World Cup Trophy 1975-1983

world cup trophy 75-83

The Prudential Trophy was the first World Cup trophy which was held in 1975. Since, The UK-based company Prudential sponsored the cricket hence, the trophy was named after it. The first two Prudential cups were won by West Indies. The third World Cup in 1983 was won by India.

The Reliance Cup Trophy – ICC World Cup Trophy 1987

world cup 87 trophy

India hosted the ICC World Cup for the first time. In fact, it was the first time ICC World Cup was happening outside England. So, the ICC World Cup Trophy was sponsored by Reliance. A One Day International (ODI) was changed from 60 overs to 50 overs. The trophy was won by Australia.

The Benson and Hedges Trophy 1992

benson and hedges trophy 1992

The Benson and Hedges Trophy as the name suggests was sponsored by Benson and Hedges. The World Cup 1992 was hosted by Australia and New Zealand together. And Pakistan won the Trophy which was made entirely of crystal without a trace of metal in it.

The Wills Cup Trophy 1996

wills cup trophy 1996

The Wills Cup Trophy was sponsored by Wills, an ITC Brand, and won by Sri Lanka. The 1996 World Cup was co-hosted by India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Therefore, Sri Lanka holds the record of being the only host country that has ever won the cup.

The World Cup Trophy, 1999 – Present

world cup trophy

The 13th edition ICC World Cup trophy was designed in 1999 by Garrard & Co, The Crown Jewelers. Well, the trophy has a lot of symbolic meaning to it. For instance, the globe represents the cricket ball with a tilted seam denoting the axial tilt of the planet Earth. Furthermore, the three columns holding the globe represent the stumps and the three aspects of the game which are batting, bowling, and fielding. Additionally, the trophy is made of gold and silver, weighs around 11 kgs and is 60 cm high.

Australia won the trophy in 1999, 2003, 2007, and yet again in 2015. While the 2011 trophy was won by India. Ultimately India became the first country to have won the trophy in a match held in its homeland.

Did you know that INDIA vs PAKISTAN stadium was empty. Click Here to read more.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top